Patience and Luck- Great Egret Catching Fish

It took half an hour of patience and a lot of clicks to catch this Great Egret with a fish in its mouth.

During my visit to Udaipur, I was waiting outside the speed-boating ticket booth at Fateh Sagar Lake when I saw this bird fishing. I took out my camera and started taking pictures of this bird. After a few clicks, I wanted to take a picture with the fish in her mouth but she was so fast in hunting and eating that I could not get a single shot with the fish in her mouth. I waited long and clicked so many pictures but no luck. All attempts to get the right moment captured failed. So I gave up and took my ticket from the counter and went in for the ride.

There was some time on the next ride as they were waiting for more people to arrive. That time I was the only one there and they don’t go on the ride unless there are at least 3-4 people on board. While waiting, I thought of trying again to get a perfect picture of the egret catching fish, so I took my camera back and started clicking again. And there the moment arrived!!! She caught the fish and it was bigger than the others and so maybe she couldn’t eat it immediately and went a few steps before swallowing and yeah that was the moment I was waiting to capture. That’s when I took this beautiful picture of the Great Egret with the fish in its mouth.

5 thoughts on “Patience and Luck- Great Egret Catching Fish

Leave a comment